ייִדיש אָן אַ גרענעץ //
//Yiddish Beyond Borders

Group Online Tuition (8 MAX)
10 weeks, two levels
sTART DATE: Saturday 11th June
Beginners 1: 11:00 EDT/16:00 BST
Beginners 2: 13:00 EDT/18:00 BST

 

Yiddish-map-of-the-world-1064x536.jpeg

As before, the Beginners 1 class will get students acquainted with the fundamentals of Yiddish orthography, speech, grammar (such as verb conjugation in the present tense, asking questions, the negative etc.) and writing. Simultaneously, students will be exposed to the rich legacy of Yiddish culture by independently exploring its history in a political and social context.

 

The Beginners 2 class, geared towards students who have either completed the Beginners 1 class or the equivalent, will tackle more complex grammatical topics such as the past and future tenses, declension, the imperative and so on. As the Beginners 2 students gain mastery over new concepts and review previously acquired knowledge they will be tasked with teaching the Beginners 1 students alongside the primary teacher-facilitator. Similarly, Beginners 1 students will be assigned the task to teach what they learn in class to others who are completely new to the language like themselves (family member, friend, partner, pet etc.) In both tracks, students will largely be responsible for creating the syllabi based on their interests. Rather than dictating the content of the syllabi, the teacher-facilitator’s role is to provide feedback on the students’ self-motivated learning and to provide insight into the barebones of the language’s grammatical structure when necessary.

The courses are taught by Eitan, a Brooklyn-based researcher, translator, and teacher interested in modern Yiddish culture as it relates to social movements. The event is being held online via Zoom.